top of page
  • Fairbury News staff

Resignation leads to vacancy

A resignation in District Three of the Livingston County Board, which includes Fairbury, has created a vacancy which will be filled within 60 days by the county board chair with the advice and consent of the entire board.

Board member John Slagel’s resignation was accepted on Friday by board chairperson Kathy Arbogast. District Three covers the townships of Avoca, Belle Prairie, Charlotte, Chatsworth, Eppards Point, Fayette, Forrest, Germanville, Indian Grove, Nebraska, Pike, Pleasant Ridge, Saunemin, Sullivan and Waldo.

“The appointed individual shall be someone from the same political party (Republican), 18 years of age, a United States citizen, resident of the county for at least one year prior to appointment, is a registered voter in District Three and shall serve through November 30, 2022,” said a news release from the county.

The vacated position will be filled by election in the General Primary to be held June 28 and the General Election on November 8. Chairperson Arbogast is expected to announce the appointment at the May 12 Livingston County Board meeting.

Anyone interested in applying for this appointment is asked to send a letter of intent prior to Monday, April 25 to: Kathy Arbogast, Chairperson, County Board Office, 112 W. Madison Street, Pontiac, IL 61764 or Kristy Masching, County Clerk, 112 W. Madison Street, PO Box 618, Pontiac, IL 61764.

391 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


DAVES LOGO larger.jpg
bottom of page